Who We Are

Native Advisory Committee

Chief Sophie Pierre, Chief, St. Mary's band, Ktunaxa Nation and entrepreneur
Ron L. Jamieson, Director, Ontario Power Authority
John Bernard, President & CEO, Donna Cona Inc.
Phil Fontaine, National Chief, Assembly of First Nations
Albert J. Snow, Executive Vice President, Turtle Clan Environmental Testing
Corinne Mount Pleasant-Jetté, Executive Director, Mount Pleasant Educational Services



New Federation House

New Federation House, founded in 1988, is an independent, non-profit corporation dedicated to public education on social, political, economic and historical issues. Our mission is to facilitate political dialogue through the publication of books on our leaders, the production of audiovisual materials, and the presentation of seminars and conferences on various aspects of community life.

Celebrating 30 years

Jean Chevrier

New Federation President and Publisher, is an attorney, writer and editor. He co-founded New Federation House and has written extensively on Canadian politics and international relations (Politique d'une Grande Puissance); his articles have appeared in The Globe and Mail, the Montreal Gazette, the Ottawa Citizen and Le Devoir. A former professor of Canadian Political History and International Relations, he worked for many years in Ottawa as legal counsel in the federal Justice Department and and served as a special advisor to Robert Stanfield and Prime Minister Joe Clark.

Denis Daigneault

New Federation Vice-President, is a scientist, historian, filmmaker, editor and educator. After working for many years in industrial research and development, he spent fifteen years with the National Film Board of Canada where he helped develop its first multimedia projects. A co-founder of New Federation House, and its long-time Associate Editor, he is also an Education Advisor at Dawson College in Montreal.

Associate Editor
Jeanne Poulin

Jeanne Poulin is a bilingual journalist specializing in socio-political issues whose articles have appeared in trade magazines, regional newspapers and several anthologies. Her work as a storyteller has been produced in museums and theatres in Montreal.

Board of Directors

Jean Chevrier, President
Denis Daigneault, Vice-president
Diane Diaconu, Secretary/Treasurer
Gerald Gummersell, Director
Gaétan Jeaurond, Director
James Lorimer, Director
Lorne Monti, Director
Jeanne Poulin, Director
Tony Di Iorio, Director
Laura Ricotta, Director
Jacques Ruelland, Director




Native Leaders of Canada is supported in part by the Canadian Studies Program, Department of Canadian Heritage; the opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the views of the Government of Canada.